SIAC Announces 2018 Men’s Basketball All-Conference Honors


ATLANTA (February 25, 2018) – Tyrius Walker (Morehouse) earned one of the league’s highest honors by being named the 2018 Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, announced Sunday by the league office.

All-conference honors are voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

Tyrius Walker earned his place as the 2018 SIAC Men’s Player of the Year after leading Morehouse to a 24-1 overall record (18-1 in conference play) and clinching the eastern division title. Walker, 6’1 senior guard, led his team and the conference as he averaged 23.7 points per game while being tied for No. 8 in Division II. During his freshman season, Walker played a big role for the Tigers while having his breakout game against LeMoyne-Owen College, with 24 points, eight rebounds and three assists while posting seven 20-point games that year. During his inaugural season, he was voted the 2014 SIAC Freshman of the Year. The Georgia native was named SIAC Player of the Week four times this season while extending the Maroon Tigers to the longest winning streak in Morehouse history.

Kendarius Ash, a 6’7 junior forward from Decatur, Ga. was named the 2018 SIAC Defensive Player of the Year for his second consecutive year. Ash led the Dragons to their 11-8 conference record after being tied with division opponent, Central State. The Georgia native finished with 18 double-doubles on the season where he is tied for No. 4 in Division II while leading the conference and Division II in rebounds averaging 12.7 rebounds per game.

Chris Scott, a 6’8 junior center, was named 2018 SIAC Newcomer of the Year as he led the Marauders (14-14, 11-8 SIAC) to the SIAC western division title. The Cleveland, Ohio native led his team in scoring as he posted an average 17.6 points per game, rebounds (8.0 per game), and blocked shots (20). Scott finished the season with 10 double-doubles while posting 24 assists, 20 blocks, and 15 steals.

Jelani Watson-Gayle of Benedict secured his spot as the 2018 Men’s Basketball Freshman of the Year. Watson-Gayle, a 6’1 freshman guard from London, England, finished the season averaging 12.5 points per game and 2.6 rebounds per game. The England native led the Tigers to an 11-8 conference record as they finished 4th in the eastern division. He currently leads his team in 3-pointers (70) while finishing with 72 rebounds, 38 assists, 26 steals, and one block on the season.

Morehouse’s Grady Brewer was selected as the 2018 Coach of the Year. Brewer completed his 18th year as head men’s basketball coach for the Maroon Tigers. During his tenure at Morehouse, he has led Morehouse to six 20-win seasons, four SIAC regular season championships, an SIAC tournament championship and two NCAA tournament appearances. After finishing 18-10 last season, Brewer revamped his team and led them to a 24-1 record while finishing first in the eastern division, breaking school records, and being regionally and nationally ranked.

The 2018 SIAC Basketball Tournament kicks off on Monday, Feb. 26 at Bill Harris Arena in Birmingham, Ala. For brackets, events, and more CLICK HERE.

2018 SIAC Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team

Player                       Position          School           Year                       Hometown

Kendarius Ash F Lane Junior Decatur, Ga
Tyrius Walker G Morehouse Senior Atlanta, Ga
Chris Scott C Central State Junior Cleveland, OH
Brandon Morris F Benedict Senior Lithonia, Ga
Jaleel Charles C Claflin Senior Far Rockaway, NY

Second Team

Player                       Position          School           Year                       Hometown

Omar Alston F/G Morehouse Junior Waldorf, MD
Reshun Ellis G LeMoyne-Owen Senior Memphis, TN
James Eads G/F Tuskegee Junior Orlando, FL
Walter Foster F Fort Valley State Senior Atlanta, Ga
Akil Douglas F Clark Atlanta Senior San Jose, CA

Honorable Mention Team

Player                       Position          School           Year                       Hometown

Austin Lawton C Claflin R-Junior Eutawville, SC
Jeffrey Dockett G Miles Senior Memphis, TN
Brandon Fischer F/C Spring Hill Junior Buford, Ga
Sheldon Wright G Miles Senior Los Angeles, CA
Davone Daniels SG Central State Freshman Indianapolis, IN

Player of the Year: Tyrius Walker, Morehouse
Defensive Player of the Year: Kendarius Ash, Lane
Newcomer of the Year: Chris Scott, Central State
Freshman of the Year: Jelani Watson-Gayle, Benedict
Coach of the Year: Grady Brewer, Morehouse

About Tyler Williams

I am a senior, Mass Media Arts major with a concentration in Radio, Television, and Film at Clark Atlanta University in Atlanta, GA. I plan to pursue a graduate degree following my undergraduate experience where I am interested in studying Sports Management. I am also exploring the field of communications in order to fuse my passion for creativity with my undying love for sports. I stay involved on-campus as I maintain being a full time Division II student-athlete with being active in organizations and activities such as Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., "The Panther" Student Newspaper, etc. Career interests are in fields such as sports management, broadcast journalism, public relations, and strategic communications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *