2015 Reinhardt Lady Eagles Soccer Preview

Reinhardt Eagles Women’s Soccer Team 2015 Preview
Head Coach: Andy Kaplan
Facility: Ken White Field

The Lady Eagles finished last season with fifteen wins, four losses, and two ties while having an AAC conference record of seven wins, two losses, and one tie. Following such a spectacular season in 2014, the Lady Eagles are picked to win the conference title this year to best last year’s early tournament loss.

Coaching Staff:
At the helm of the Lady Eagles we have Andy Kaplan. Coach Kaplan is currently in his 13th season as the women’s head coach and has had steadily improving success on and off the field since his arrival. Not only has he produced NAIA Region tournament contenders several times, he also pushes his team to academic success. The Lady Eagles boasted the highest team GPA in the national rankings. Prior to his career at Reinhardt Coach Kaplan was a history teach and men’s soccer coach at Marietta High School in Marietta, Georgia for eleven years. He attended Macalester College where he was a four-year starter on the men’s soccer team. He later obtained his master’s degree from Boston University.

The team includes twenty-three players, and will be led by six seniors and five juniors. Although the season is starting off on a positive note the team has already been affected by injuries to key players- Yanci Akselsen a ,lightning quick forward, and Chelsey Munday ,a defensive specialist. Interestingly enough those two players are also the two players that had to travel the farthest road to Reinhardt. Yanci is from San Miguel, El Salvador, while Chelsey is from Bristol, England. In a recent interview with Chelsey she stated,” being away from them, (her family) is definitely tough at times but my Reinhardt family makes the separation easier and more comfortable.” That type of bond can be felt throughout the team as they all play with a unity that breeds success. They are all aware of the high expectations for the season and have each embraced them with high energy and an acceptance of the challenge at hand.

0 Taylor Asher
JR GK 5-4 Williamson, Ga. Pike County HS
1 Colby LaFever
SR GK 5-4 Canton, Ga. Sequoyah HS
2 Megan Monroe
SO F 5-6 Marietta, Ga. Sprayberry HS
3 Anna Phillips
SO MF 5-3 Cartersville, Ga. Cartersville HS
4 Sarah Bruno
FR D 5-4 Savannah, Ga. Savannah Christian
5 Hannah Easterwood
SO D 5-4 Dallas, Ga. North Paulding HS
6 Megan McCall
SO D 5-8 Kennesaw, Ga. Veritas Classical School
7 Amber Jent
JR D 5-3 Douglasville, Ga. Alexander HS
8 Eli Quintanilla
FR MF Lilburn, Ga. Parkview HS
9 Madi Easterwood
SR F 5-8 Dallas, Ga. North Paulding HS
10 Yanci Akselsen
JR F 5-1 San Miguel, El Salvador Etowah HS
11 Stephanie Goins
SR MF 5-6 Alpharetta, Ga. Milton HS
12 Chelsey Munday
SR D 5-11 Bristol, England Virginia Intermont
13 Allie Hale
JR F 5-5 Macon, Ga. Stratford Academy
14 Kristin Clegg
SR MF 5-4 Canton, Ga. Sequoyah HS
15 Katie Hale
JR D 5-5 Macon, Ga. Stratford Academy
16 Lindsey White
SR F 5-6 Buford, Ga. Buford HS
17 Hannah Hale
SO D 5-3 Villa Rica, Ga. Villa Rica HS
18 Katie Goodrich
SO MF 5-4 Cumming, Ga. Home School
19 Sydney Jacobs
FR MF 5-4 Colbert, Ga. Madison County HS
20 Victoria Cassidy
SO MF 5-4 Canton, Ga. Cherokee HS
21 Brittany Jensen
FR MF Calhoun, Ga. Calhoun HS
22 Madeline Troy
FR MF Snellville, Ga. Brookwood HS
23 Alexis Davis
SO F 5-7 Dunwoody, Ga. Dunwoody HS
Andy Kaplan – Head Coach – 13th season
Stephen Weiss – Assistant Coach – 1st season

Schedule: * denotes conference game

28 4:00 PM vs. (RV) SCAD Savannah T-1-1 (2OT)
30 2:00 PM vs. University of South Carolina Beaufort W-5-0
4 6:00 PM @ Brewton-Parker College @Henderson, Tenn.
5 2:00 PM @ Freed-Hardeman University @Henderson, Tenn.
* 16 2:00 PM vs. Point University @Waleska, Ga.
19 2:00 PM vs. Bob Jones University @Waleska, Ga.
23 3:00 PM vs. Brenau University @Waleska, Ga.
* 26 1:00 PM @ Bluefield College @Bluefield, Va.
* 30 5:00 PM @ Bryan College @Dayton, Tenn.
* 3 12:00 PM @ St. Andrews University @Laurinburg, N.C.
* 7 4:30 PM @ Truett-McConnell College @Cleveland, Ga.
* 11 2:00 PM vs. Tennessee Wesleyan College @Waleska, Ga.
14 7:00 PM @ (RV) Georgia Gwinnett College @Lawrenceville, Ga.
* 17 5:00 PM @ Union College (KY) @Barbourville, Ky.
* 21 2:00 PM vs. Columbia (SC) College @Waleska, Ga.
* 24 1:00 PM vs. Montreat College @Waleska, Ga.
* 28 1:00 PM vs. Milligan College @ Waleska, Ga.

The Eagles participate in the Appalachian Athletic Conference, formally the Tennessee-Virginia Athletic Conference. The AAC houses 12 members: Bluefield College, Bryan College, Columbia College, Milligan College, Montreat College, Point University, Reinhardt University, Savannah College of Arts and Design, St. Andrews University, Tennessee Wesleyan College, Truett-McConnell College, and Union College. In addition, both Asbury University and the University of the Cumberlands are affiliate members of the Conference. The conference play differentiate between the sports here at Reinhardt University.FullSizeRender

About Reinhardt Sport Studies

This blog is maintained by Reinhardt Sport Studies majors enrolled in Athletics and Media Relations course Fall 2015. Students are Malcolm Anderson, Kraig Doremus, Ally Hurd, Lauren Mullinax, Taylor Pineda, Tyler Pineda, and DeVante Wynn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To use reCAPTCHA you must get an API key from https://www.google.com/recaptcha/admin/create