2015 Reinhardt University Men’s Soccer Overview

Written By: Taylor Pineda and Tyler Pineda

Head Coach: Joey Johnson

Last Season’s Record: 15-3

Facility: Ken White Field


After coming off a very successful season, the Reinhardt Eagles Men’s Soccer team soars into the new season with similar intentions. In their campaign, the Eagles compiled an outstanding 15 wins with only three losses. In conference play, the team finished with eight wins and one loss. Prior to the 2015 kickoff, the Eagles received 35 poll votes placing them just outside the Top 25 national rankings. On August 29th, the Eagles suffered a loss to Martin Methodist, the 2013 national champions, in Pulaski, Tennessee. The Eagles also lost to Berry College, in Mt. Berry, Georgia, on September 1st.

Coaching Staff:

Guiding the Eagles, Joey Johnson enters his second year with Reinhardt. Johnson has a history of coaching with multiple schools, the recent being Bryan College. While at Bryan, he led them to two AAC titles and a berth in the 2013 NAIA National Tournament. In 2014, he developed 14 players honored by the AAC, with seven of them being All-Conference. Johnson also won the AAC Conference Championship the same year for the first time in Reinhardt University history.

Zack Schultze, a Reinhardt Alumni, and Jorge Gonzales, a graduate assistant from Bryan College, assist Johnson. Schultz was a four year starter at goalkeeper from 2008-2011. Gonzales played at Bryan College under Coach Johnson. He brings a similar coaching philosophy to the table. Gonzales played for the Premier Development League and National Premier Soccer League.

Player Roster:

The current team roster has 22 total players with only two seniors, Jason Walker, a Jasper, GA native and Samson Nyamunda out of Harare, Zimbabwe. The team consists of 14 players originally from countries outside of the United States such as Germany, England, Scotland, and Ecuador. In a recent interview, Calum Farrell, a Junior Midfielder, stated, “We have very good players on the team. The newcomers are a great addition to the Reinhardt University family. We are looking forward to continue the success here at RU.”


#00 Torge Wiedenroth, FR, GK, 6’0, Bexhovede, Germany

#0 Luke Williams, SO, GK, 6’1, Canton, Ga.

#1, Justin Crozier, JR, GK, 6’6, Augusta, Ga.

#2 Joe English, FR, D, 5’11, Swindon, England

#3 Jason Walker, SR, D, 6’0, Jasper, Ga.

#4 Alan Barikos, JR, D, 5’10, Lawrenceville, Ga.

#5 Dan Bent, FR, D, 6’2, London, England

#6 Mark Logan, JR, D, 6’0, Glasgow, Scotland

#7 Jordan Williams, SO, D, 5’8, Birmingham, England

#8 Maximilian Schwoche, JR, D, 6’0, Wuppertal, Germany

#9 Jose Rubio, JR, F, 5’9, Quito, Ecuador

#10 Samson Nyamunda, SR, MF, 5’5, Harare, Zimbabwe

#11 Matthew Grey, SO, MF, 5’11, Southhampton, England

#12 Landen Deckert, JR, F, 6’0, Forsyth, Ga.

#13 Hermon Gebrezgabiher, JR, MF, 5’7, Asmera, Eritrea

#14 Luis Lozoya, SO, D, 5’11, Jasper, Ga.

#15 Declan Haughton, JR, D, 5’8, Manchester, England

#17 Callum Farrell, JR, MF, 5’8, Manchester, England

#19 Carlos Delarosa, FR, F, 6’1, Duluth, Ga.

#21 Christian Ruiz, FR, D, 5’11, Canton, Ga.

#22 Zach McCown, JR, MF, 6’0, Marietta, Ga.

#23 Daniel Orillac, JR, MF, 5’11, Panama City, Panama

#24 Bryan Rodrigues, FR, D, 5’11, Valejas, Portugal

#28 Dodge Palmisano, FR, D, 5’10, Lawrenceville, Ga.



22           4:00 PM vs. Young Harris College

29           4:00 PM @ Martin Methodist College


1             5:00 PM @ Berry College

9             7:00 PM @ (13) Georgia Gwinnett College

12           4:15 PM vs. Brewton-Parker College

16*         4:15 PM vs. Point University

19           4:15 PM vs. Middle Georgia State College

22           7:00 PM @ Bob Jones University

26*         3:00 PM @ Bluefield College

30*         7:00 PM @ Bryan College


3*           2:00 PM @ (16) St. Andrews University

7*           4:00 PM @ Truett-McConnell College

10*         4:15 PM vs. Tennessee Wesleyan College

17*         7:00 PM @ Union College (KY)

20*         3:00 PM vs. Talladega College

25*         3:15 PM vs. Montreat College

28*         3:30 PM vs. Milligan College

31           1:00 PM vs. (5) University of Rio Grande

*Conference Event        


The Eagles participate in the Appalachian Athletic Conference, formally the Tennessee-Virginia Athletic Conference. The AAC houses 12 members: Bluefield College, Bryan College, Columbia College, Milligan College, Montreat College, Point University, Reinhardt University, Savannah College of Arts and Design, St. Andrews University, Tennessee Wesleyan College, Truett-McConnell College, and Union College. In addition, both Asbury University and the University of the Cumberlands are affiliate members of the Conference. The conference play differentiate between the sports here at Reinhardt University.

About Reinhardt Sport Studies

This blog is maintained by Reinhardt Sport Studies majors enrolled in Athletics and Media Relations course Fall 2015. Students are Malcolm Anderson, Kraig Doremus, Ally Hurd, Lauren Mullinax, Taylor Pineda, Tyler Pineda, and DeVante Wynn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To use reCAPTCHA you must get an API key from https://www.google.com/recaptcha/admin/create