Georgia by the Numbers

Athletic teams at the University of Georgia have seen a lot of success throughout history. UGA sports teams have a combined total of 39 national championships, including 26 since 1999 and 147 SEC championships.


The football team has 2 consensus national championships and claims 3 others.

The 2 consensus national championships were won in 1942 and 1980. In 1942, the Bulldogs finished the season 11-1 under coach James Wallace Butts and were declared champions in six final polls recognized by the NCAA.

Vince Dooley’s 1980 national championship team were led to a perfect 12-0 record by freshman running back Herschel Walker. This was also the season of Lindsay Scott’s famous 93-yard, game-winning touchdown reception against Florida. The Bulldogs finished the season at No. 1 in most major polls after defeating Notre Dame in the Sugar Bowl.

The 1927, 1946, and 1968 teams had been declared national champions by by at least one national poll at the end of the season

The Georgia football team also has 12 SEC titles.


The Gym Dogs have had some of the most successful teams in the history of Georgia Athletics. The Gym Dogs won 10 national titles and 16 SEC championships under coach Suzanne Yoculan, including five consecutive championships from 2005-2009. The gymnastics team also won national titles in 1987, 1989, 1993, 1998, and 1999.


The men’s tennis program at Georgia has been one of the best in the nation with 8 national titles in 1985, 1987, 1999, 2001, 2006 (Indoor), 2007 (Indoor), 2007, and 2008. The Georgia men’s tennis team also has 36 SEC championships.

The women’s tennis team at Georgia is coached by Jeff Wallace, who is the nation’s winningest active women’s tennis coach. The women’s tennis team has won 5 national titles in 1994, 1994 (Indoor), 1995 (Indoor), 2000, and 2002 (Indoor). The Georgia women’s tennis team has 9 SEC Championships.

Swimming & Diving

Georgia’s swimming and diving teams are coached by Jack Bauerle who is the nation’s winningest active coach and the winningest coach in SEC history. Bauerle was also the United States Women’s Head Coach for the 2008 Olympics.

The women’s swimming and diving team at UGA has won 5 national championships in 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, and 2013. They also have 10 SEC titles

The men’s swimming and diving team has won 3 SEC Championships.


Georgia’s equestrian team has won 5 national titles, including three consecutive championships from 2008-2010. The equestrian team also won national championships in 2003 and 2004. The UGA Equestrian Complex is located in Bishop, GA which is approximately twelve miles away from Athens.


The men’s golf team at UGA has won 2 national titles in 1999 and 2005. The Georgia men’s golf program has also won 28 SEC championships.

The women’s golf team at UGA were national champions in 2001. The women’s golf team also has 11 SEC championships.


The baseball team at UGA won a national title in 1990. The Diamond Dawgs also have 6 SEC championships.


The women’s basketball team at UGA has won 7 SEC championships. The Lady Dogs are coached by Andy Landers who has over 800 career wins.

The men’s basketball team were the SEC champions in 1990.

Track & Field

The women’s track and field team at UGA were SEC champions in 1995 (Outdoor), 2006 (Indoor), and 2006 (Outdoor).

The Georgia men’s track and team won an SEC title in 1937 (Outdoor).


The Georgia volleyball team won back-to-back SEC titles in 1985 and 1986.


The softball team at UGA won SEC championships in 2003 and 2005.